Hack the Pi Review – Days 3

Hack the Pi is continuing weekly and it is starting to get easier to manage. I have realized the videos are now unnecessary. Students are able to read the directions and look online for further guidance to help them complete their hacks.

Issue #1 Reflections: In order to make our Hack the Pi series I have created reflection questions that I make sure are aligned to the NGSS practices. The reflections are a VERY important piece to making sure computer science can be integrated into my current science curriculum. I originally was going to have them write their reflections in their science journals, but that would require me collecting their journals. Collecting journals is ALWAYS a hassle since I have 190 students so I definitely wanted to avoid this.

Solution #1: I decided to have students make their reflections on their seesaw accounts which were created earlier in the year. Seesaw is an online journal where students can record videos, post pictures and write reflections. I originally had them sign up so parents would get a peak at what is going on in class during the week ( labs, etc.). Having students post their reflections on Seesaw has really helped simplify the reflection process at the end of the Hack.

This is how I am currently having in class Hack the Pi time spent:

  1. Students enter the classroom and begin setting up their Raspberry Pi stations (includes plugging in and hooking up cords & logging into the Pi).
  2. I have students pause and give students the Hack the are currently on.
  3. Students work independently with their table partner to complete the Hack.
  4. Once the Hack is complete students log into seesaw and answer reflection questions. Once they have completed this they notify me.
  5. I check my seesaw and look at their answer and then I go to their station and make sure the code works. If the code works I mark they completed the Hack and they move on to the next one.

Here is the link for Seesaw: http://web.seesaw.me/

I have posted a picture of a students reflection, it also points out the biggest frustration students have when coding. “Where did they make a mistake in their code?” They hate when they get the “syntax error” box, but they always swear to me their code is right and there MUST be something wrong with their Raspberry Pi. Oh the life of a middle school teacher.

Screenshot (1)

That’s all for this week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Raspberry Pi

Leave a Reply

